Tackling Greenery

I met one of our next door neighbors the other day. I was digging a hole, and he was mowing the lawn. He welcomed me, cooly, and then told me that he was going to tackle my dandelions for me … apparently, he fears for the health of his lawn. I couldn’t decide if he was trying to be kind to the sweaty girl with the shovel, or if he was trying to guilt trip me into doing some weed control. I assured him that no-no, I wouldn’t put him to work, and I would take care of them, thanked him, and went back to my hole.

I then forgot to dig up those dandelions. Whoops.

I can’t see myself being someone who cares deeply about the state of our grass, but our other plants? Yes please. The back garden, once a mix of monkey grass and milkweed, is now fully de-weeded. I discovered two rose bushes – one of which already has a bud, despite the recent bout of chilliness, and planted two peonie bushes.

I spent last Sunday afternoon turning over soil for our vegetable garden. There’s a lot of land to cut up still, but I’m ready to plant the tomatoes as soon as the weather warms up again. Like my dirt clod border? So fancy, right?

1 Comment

Filed under Green Thumb

One response to “Tackling Greenery

  1. Dot

    Yay, you have a blog! This is great. I love fresh paint and home redecorating excitement!

Leave a Reply

