I’ve been avoiding the grocery store, which means I just had a lunch of peanut butter, nutella, and rice cakes. I’m telling you this because I’m a little ashamed of my laziness… but also to show off a bit, because my lunch was delicious. At least I’m honest, dear Internet, yes?

The reason why I’m avoiding the inevitable?

1. I like a challenge. Can you make dinner out of rice pasta, brown bananas and black beans? 1 … 2 … 3… GO! I’ll wait here and be your taste tester (make sure you pass along the recipe, because that’s all we have left).

2. I’m avoiding a bigger task at hand. Grocery shopping means menu planning, and Katie doth not want to map out her meals at the moment. John and I eat out very little (darn gluten) and most of our meals come completely from scratch (again, darn gluten), and whine, whine, whine, but that’s a lot of work!

3. This beauty (among others):

(Gap)

A quest for summer skirts turned into a mini It’s-On-Sale-And-I-Want-It-So-Badly-So-Yes-Please purchasing parade, and I’m still feeling a tad bit guilty for spending more money than I anticipated. I can’t say I regret it though, this sucker is the perfect medium for my thrives-in-heat-AC-at-80-puhlease body temp and John’s desire to relocate to the Arctic Circle. Compromise is beautiful, isn’t it (and ohsosoft).

2 Comments

Filed under General Musings

2 responses to “

  1. I completely understand…David is gluten intolerant, eating means LOTS of cooking when I’m in Iowa with him, and sometimes we just get tired of it and eat cheese sprinkled on corn tortillas for about six meals in a row… hey whatever works, right?

  2. No way! Is he celiac? For my first year after my diagnosis, cheese + corn tortillas was my go-to meal too … and M&Ms. It can be such a hassle, but health is health is health, you gotta do what you gotta do.

    If you’re interested, my FAVORITE GF cookbook right now is Make it Fast, Cook it Slow. I’m crock-pot obsessed, and the author is GF. You should tell David about it!

Leave a Reply

