Ready for Tomatoes! Another Basil Update

Baby basil is growing quickly (oh, if only my tomatoes would ripen as fast).

Last update, I had moved the mother plant indoors since outdoor living was producing puny leaves. I noticed today that I have another problem …

Flowers!!!!!!!!!!!

I want the plant’s energy devoted to producing beautiful, wide leaves, NOT delicate flowers – the truth with any herb, really. So… snip, snip, snip:

Problem (hopefully) solved. I actually took off the about an inch and a half of top stem, which I then cut, according to the nodes, in hopes of producing three more baby basils …

It may be tacky, but a diet coke cap was the perfect size to start these cuttings. If you’re going to take basil cuttings for real, I would suggest longer cuttings (Mr. Internet suggests 4 inches). But since these were cast offs anyway, I figured I had room to experiment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

