some perspective, or learning how to be an adult

Sometimes it takes facing what you thought you wanted to realize what you truly value. Last week I received an ego boost when an interesting interview transformed into a job offer – a job I would have killed for in August 2009. And quite honestly … a job I still kind of want. So like any aspiring adult facing a life altering decision, I made a pro-con list. And then my dad made me a pro-con list. And then I emailed my professional mentors and asked their opinion. I contemplated those lists and emails and hopes and dreams, and then did some serious math. And with it all on paper, I knew what the answer was. So I comforted myself with some nutella and graciously turned the offer down.

This was a new experience. I job-searched for a long time – continuously with job #1 (temporary and in the wrong city) and occasionally with job #2 – ever the optimist, I’m on the look-out for the perfect fit.Β Β And after sending in all those resumes and cover letters, I received many-a-rejection and after a while … those rejections make you question your worth, and the value of your education, and all those unpaid hours in internships. It’s wonderful to get a “Yes, please, we want you on our team!” and its ever-so refreshing to realize that I’m in a place where I can think, “Yes, that would be a great experience, but it’s just not good enough.”

And … here’s your dose of Pasha, after she squeezed me out of my own armchair and fell asleep.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “some perspective, or learning how to be an adult

  1. Hey Boo! I liked reading this post, even though this experience had to be difficult for you. Never question your worth or value. Any company or organization would be extremely LUCKY to have you. I promise, and Corriney don’t lie. You’re one of the smartest cookies I know. Let’s be honest here…I only passed HS German because of your grammar knowledge. πŸ™‚ I’m sorry this decision was so tough, but you went about it in the best way and did what was right for your situation. I know something will come along. I have a good feeling about it. Miss you, beste Freundin.

    PS look at my recent fb pics people have tagged of me. You’ll see that I’m representin’ even 4,500 miles away from u. (hint: it’s a pink shirt you should be lookin for.) πŸ˜‰

  2. Danke schon fruendin! I’m sure it was the right decision … plus, when you contemplate a pay cut, it really makes you realize the value of what you currently make! (I’m really trying to suppress the desire to go shopping).

    And I couldn’t find the pictures – put them on your BLOG! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  3. Sorry to be so post drive-by tonight. As you may have read on my blog, just moved to Utah to take on my own last resort to my own failed job search – and was really questioning my worth at the point when I applied for this mostly unpaid (160 dollars a week for 40 hours of work) INTERNSHIP (again, sigh). So I totally understand – believe me. I hope I’m as lucky as you and someday find myself in a situation where I am able to actually turn down an offer.

    Enough about me. I just enjoy reading about your life. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

